Department of Physics

The Department of Physics, established in September, 2017, is one of the eight departments of PDUAM, Dalgaon. Currently the department offers B.Sc. Major and B.Sc. general courses for undergraduate students under Gauhati University, Guwahati and also Higher Secondary courses (10+2) under AHSEC. The department comprises of well-equipped physics laboratory and offers a vibrant atmosphere to students and faculty to nurture the spirit of scientific inquiry in a highly encouraging environment.

Vision of the Department

  • To impart quality education in the subject area of Physics & Electronics
  • To meet scientific and social needs

Mission of the Department

  • To enrich the knowledge and skills of students through continuous learning
  • To impart technical knowledge to make students to accept the challenges worldwide

Programmes Offered

  1. Bachelor of Science in Physics (1 Major 2 Minor) NEP 2020
  2. Bachelor of Science in Physics ( Major) CBCS Syllabus
  3. Bachelor of Science in Physics ( Major & General) Non CBCS Syllabus
  4. Physics in Higher Secondary under AHSEC (10+2)

Add on Courses

  • Introduction to Graphical and Computational Analysis for Physicists using Python
  • Domestic Solar Photovoltaic System Management

Faculty Members

Dr. Lakhi Chetia
Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualifications:M Sc, PhD, SLET

Dr. Debabrat Kalita
Designation: Assistant Professor & HoD
Qualifications: M Sc, PhD, SLET

Dr. Angana Goswami
Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualification : M Sc, PhD, SLET

Mriganka Bastav Chakrabarty
Designation : Assistant Professor
Qualification : M Sc, NET JRF

Staff Member

Himangshu Kumar, Laboratory Bearer

Our Alumni

  • Abu Jaher, M Sc (Physics), Tezpur University, Assam
  • Minhajul Islam Jakaria, M Sc (Physics), Bodoland University, Assam
  • Mahmud Ajmal, M Sc (Physics) USTM, Meghalaya
  • Pran Krishna Nath, M Sc (Physics) NIT Silchar, Assam